Skåne is very pretty!

Now that I have arrived at my first real stop in little Smedstorp, I can say that this part of Sweden is really pretty! I can see why they get so many tourists here – not only because it’s very close to the border. See where I am? That blue dot there 🙂

Smedstorp

My new home for the next 3 weeks is an old farm from the 1800s which had been completely restored before, but some tenants managed to destroy a lot in a few years’ time, so now the owners are trying to build it up yet again. The outside is almost finished, now the plan is to focus on the inside a bit more. This means I will try to sew some curtains – we’ll see how that goes 😉

Also, they have 7 dogs in the house (and 5 more in the barn who have puppies between 1 and 2.5 weeks!). They are very cute little doggies, Jack Russells, partly mixed with Chihuahua or Spaniel. That’s another of my tasks: take them on walkies once a day. Not all at once, mind, but in packs of 3. One has a problem with her back leg at the moment, so she’s staying in until that’s better.

Heap of Chihuahuas Pile of Russells

The walks are fun, even if the dogs aren’t used to them like other dogs – they have the run of the house and the whole garden all day. But they also get me to explore the surroundings and just enjoy the calm and space here 🙂 Must bring my camera out too, can see a lot of nice pics waiting to be taken! Should do that without the dogs though maybe…

My stay is for 3 weeks (there was a slight hiccup about that, my fault, but it’s sorted now) and on Sunday a woman from Iceland will come here too. We will be sharing the room, so I hope that will go well!

The lady of the house bought a swing hammock today and took me along with her and Skåne Sven to pick it up. Skåne Sven (that’s how I call him in my mind) is helping her a bit, mainly to keep himself busy though at his age of 72. He also speaks proper Skånska, so I have a hard time understanding him – the fact that he’s missing about half his teeth doesn’t help much either 😉 Speaking Swedish as such is going quite well though!

When we had picked up the purchase, she took us to one of the beaches too. Oh, how beautiful!!! And almost empty!!! Hopefully the weather will be good enough soon for a little trip to the beach 🙂

Beach near Sandby

 

Pictures so far only taken on the phone camera, please excuse bad quality 😉

Leave a Reply

